Blueberry lemon pound cake 

  
So blueberries were on sale this week so that’s my excuse for eating them everyday. I decided to make a blueberry lemon pound cake, I lightened it up by using margarine instead of butter, organic cane sugar, fresh lemon juice, whole grain baking flour, and lots of blueberries. There’s something about blueberries and lemon together that is the perfect combination the sweet and tart are such a great compliment to each other. Why did I make a blueberry lemon cake in February? It’s raining, cold, and dreary outside and I am beyond over this weather. Blueberry and lemon remind me of crisp warm sunny days and that’s what I’m dreaming about. So as I bite into this I can think about the sun shining and the warm wind and fresh flavors. For the recipe  

1 stick of Margarine- 1/2 cup 

3/4 cup of organic cane sugar 

3 eggs 

Teaspoon of vanilla extract 

Juice of one lemon 

Teaspoon of lemon zest 

1 and 1/2 cup of whole grain organic flour 

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder 

1 cup of blueberries 
Whip your margarine and sugar together, then slowly whip the eggs, don’t over mix or your cake will become thick rather than light and fluffy. Mix in the rest of the ingredients, I didn’t have a bread pan so I used a bunt cake dish spray with non stick spray and bake for 50-60 minutes and 70-75 minutes if using a bread pan. Enjoy ! 🍋 

Leave a Reply

