Ahi Tuna Stack

FullSizeRender (2)Ahi tuna has to be one of my favorite meals/appetizers. I LOVE sushi and any kind with tuna is my go to. I always order tuna tartake and seared tuna out, and that gets so expensive. So I took it upon myself to attempt to make my own seared tuna. I was terrified to make it myself because I like it rare, but I did it anyway.

Here’s what happened. I ate this tuna stack at a restaurant and I honestly can’t remember where I had it, but I never forgot the presentation I fell in love with it. I’ve seen the shrimp stack before and I just think it looks so fancy  and colorful. So I wanted to make it. I thought this was going to be so difficult but in all honestly it was SOOOOO Simple.

You can’t make a good seared tuna without putting it in a screaming hot cast iron pan. I just moved into my apartment not too long ago and we have an electric stove that I despise. I hate the coils because everything cooks so unevenly and then the oil or whatever you’re cooking with goes to one side of the pan and it drives me absolutely nuts.

Yeah with that being said I went out to this new cooking gadget store and bought myself a cast iron pan. They are the most amazing pans and I am thrilled to make more meals with it, so stay tuned friends.

Ingredients

  • 1 tuna steak, make sure it is fresh and has a nice bright color to it
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 tblsp of olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of cooked brown rice (or any kind you like)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • ginger powder
  • garlic

For the sauce 

  • 1/3 cup of soy sauce
  • tablespoon of Siracha
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon of rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic
  • dash of ginger
  • sesame seeds for garnish
  • green onion for garnish
  1. heat olive oil in a cast iron pan and get it screaming hot until you can see the steam.
  2. season your tuna steak with salt, pepper, garlic, and ginger on each side ( do it to your taste)
  3. sear your tuna for about 30-45 seconds on each side
  4. dice your half of cucumber and avocado
  5. cook and measure your rice
  6. for the stack I used a rocks glass, but if you have a can you can cut it to make it work.
  7. fill your rocks glass with some sesame seeds and then your tuna
  8. the layer the cucumber and avocado
  9. the pack the rice on top firmly
  10. place on a plate and remove it slowly
  11. mix all the ingredients for your sauce in a bowl and spoon it over your stack
  12. sprinkle with sesame seeds and green onions and dig in!

IMG_4613FullSizeRender (3)

Leave a Reply

