Jambalaya 


Usually jambalaya is filled with sodium and unhealthy things, so I took it upon myself to try and lighten this up. For those of you doing that whole 30 thing, my friend said this is approved. I was meal prepping yesterday and I know typically people eat this with shrimp, but in my person opinion shrimp reheated just doesn’t taste good to me. So I did chicken sausage and chicken instead.
I used brown rice, you can use whatever you please. Make it your own that’s what cooking is all about right?

Ingredients 

  • 2 chicken breasts (you can use shrimp in place of this)
  • Note: You can use all 3; chicken, sausage, and shrimp
  • 1 package of chicken sausage (feel free to use regular sausage)
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 1 bag of brown rice (use whatever rice you like)
  • 1 tomato diced
  • 1 medium white onion diced
  • 1 bell pepper diced
  • 1 tablespoon of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Note: you can use a package of creole or jambalaya spices but I like to make my own to avoid MSG and too much sodium.
  1. Cook your rice
  2. Place chicken and chicken sausage on a baking sheet with cooking spray and bake at 350 for 25 minutes
  3. While the rice and meat are cooking dice your veggies
  4. Heat the olive oil in the pan
  5. Sauté your garlic until golden brown, then add the rest of the veggies until they are tender and start to sweat
  6. Add your cooked rice to the pan of veggies
  7. Dice up your chicken and chicken sausage
  8. Add your seasonings mix up and enjoy 😛

I love mine spicy so I used hot chicken sausage and I added additional hot sauce to mine.


  
  

Leave a Reply

